TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 When your new symptoms are worse than the old ones
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Odrog

27 Posts

Posted - 02/13/2008 :  12:30:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sorry if this sounds like a ramble or rant, its been quite a day. I'm also trying to keep a sense of humor. I'm new to this whole TMS thing (at least in the sense that I only recently heard of the term 'TMS'). I had been having lower back pain for years (had been to a doctor, no help, you know the story). Finally got fed up with it and did some serious internet searching for solutions. I eventually stumbled across Sarno's Healing Back Pain book being recommended, checked out and saw all of the positive reviews on Amazon.com, and decided to read it myself. Like many here, I saw myself being described in many ways.

I have a history of this sort of thing, that is in dealing with anxiety issues. I used to get panic attacks years ago, listening to the Lucinda Bassette "Attacking Anxiety" program was extremely helpful and the whole panic attack thing disappeared completely almost overnight. I still have problems with "negative self talk" which I have to constantly work on. But at that time I didn't know about this whole classic "symptoms moving around" thing. Looking back, the lower back pain thing probably only got bad after I dealt with and fixed the panic attack thing. I've also had other symptoms described in sarno's book - carpal tunnel like symptoms that got very bad but are now completely gone.