TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 Success Stories
 RSI, mild stomach/knee/shoulder pain, eye dryness
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Sky

USA
96 Posts

Posted - 04/23/2009 :  17:19:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
From my mindbody website: http://themindbodyspot.wordpress.com/

I was a freshman in college during the Spring of 2004 when I developed chronic pain in my hands. I thought the pain was caused by using my laptop, because it started to fester when I began typing my notes in class instead of writing them on paper.

The pain increased in intensity and frequency over time. Eventually if I just gritted through the pain and continued to type for, say, 30 minutes one night, it hurt to put on a T-shirt the next morning.

Over the next two years, I saw several reputable doctors and physical therapists, all of whom concluded that I had Repetitive Stress Injury (RSI) from typing.

They said the pain should disappear if I learned to stretch and exercise my hands, took frequent enough breaks at the computer, used properly ergonomic keyboards, desks, and chairs, and sat with the proper posture while using the computer.

I made each of these changes, and the pain would improve for a little while after many of them, but it always returned and got worse.

My last keyboard struck me as something you’d use to operate a space ship. I placed each hand into a pod of sorts, and each finger only had to move a couple of millimeters in any direction to hit every key on the keyboard. Friends would laugh at it, but it was a brilliant device.