TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 New to TMS. Location of TMS doctors
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

stemdog 39

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 09/18/2009 :  08:26:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am a newbie to this message board and i have just realized I have suffered from TMS for a long time now. Just a little background first so you guys know where I am coming from. I'm a 32 yr old male who just recently retired from Major League baseball due to a failed surgeries. I had elbow surgery in 2006 and neck surgery in 2007. Since then I have been enrolled in college to finish my degree. I've been battling lower back issues since I retired from baseball when it never even hurt while I was playing. This semester I had to drop out because the latest flare up would not let me sit down. I laid in bed over the next 4 weeks searching the internet for sciatica relief. FINALLY, I stumbled upon Dr. Sarno's books and read about myself in every page. I could not believe the accuracy the Dr. had describing my personality, family life, employment stress, physical symptoms, etc. This all happened about a week ago.
So I've read all of his books, wrote about 35 pages of repressed emotions, and have the DVD's on the way. I whole heartedly believe I have TMS. But in the books he says how important it is to go on with normal activities. I still cannot sit to drive anywhere so I have been confined to the house for 6 weeks now. In the other back pain instances I would just deal with it and move on. Not this one. I don't have pain medicine to take the edge off either.