TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 Repressed Emotions vs. Thoughts
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

All1Spirit

USA
149 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2013 :  20:28:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I am very new to this process/theory but not new to anxiety and allostatic load treatments. For decades we explored the unconscious looking for the smoking gun for anxiety, IBS and stress conditions. Catharsis and psychodynamics bought therapist new cars and a home on the beach and left the patients still suffering.

So I am wondering if this TMS is not a repeat and in the end the cure is removing the fear of symptoms through positive thoughts and self talk. Lowering stress provoking habits and retraining the nervous system with meditation/relaxation.

Still with anxiety an hour of relaxation will not counteract the incessant drip of negative bias 24/7. I also suspect since so many of us came out of stressful families we learned ineffective coping skills/thoughts.....have personalities that tend to look for potential threats and generally talk to and treat ourselves in ways that we would never do to a child.

So perhaps a new life view, a kindness of words and new stories about our symptoms and conditions.

I have seen my symptoms reduce 50 to 70% with a reason to hope – the right word from a friend or the potential for a new program to recover. This is extremely transitory but still I have seen myself make a major shift in minutes with new thoughts??

eric watson

USA
601 Posts

Posted - 02/06/2013 :  20:53:51  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
all1spirit your doing well-im proud for you and your recovery
if someone has made you doubt that repressions is the problem
then remeber theres tons of us out there and im one of them