TMSHelp Forum
TMSHelp Forum
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ | Resources | Links | Policy
Username:
Password:

Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 TMSHelp
 TMSHelp General Forum
 Can TMS affect abdominal muscles?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

ladylazarus

2 Posts

Posted - 10/23/2015 :  14:56:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone, I'm new to Dr Sarno's books and am finding them very enlightening! I've read The Mindbody Prescription and am now reading Healing Back Pain.

I don't have back pain, but I think I have at least a TMS equivalent. I feel the muscles in or around my stomach are constantly tensed, or even dead/paralysed. It hasn't gone away for one second in 3 years. I've seen countless doctors, but no tests have come up with anything. I am never comfortable, and have had to quit my career (singing) and I barely leave the house. It's awful being so inactive at the age of 27 for no discernible reason! I also have vague digestive issues, but nothing bowel-related so I was never diagnosed with IBS. It could just be a set of muscles in my abdomen that are acting up.

What I'm wondering is, does anyone know why Dr Sarno says TMS only affects neck, back, shoulders etc. muscles? It seems that the restriction of blood flow could very well apply in my case, but if TMS definitely only affects those muscles then at most I have a "TMS-equivalent" and I can't be sure what is happening in my scenario.

One thing of note is that I had an eating disorder, and I always thought this pain was caused by that. But doctors say it would have healed years ago if that were the case. Thing is, if TMS were to masquerade as a real physical issue, the abdomen would be the place to do it.

Thanks for reading!

tennis tom

USA
4746 Posts

Posted - 10/26/2015 :  10:07:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by ladylazarus